Team
Caecilia Charbonnier - Artanim
Caecilia Charbonnier
Founder, President, Research Director
Caecilia has a PhD in Computer Science and a vast experience in research and development. Check with her for any research inquiries.
Biography
Caecilia was a professional tennis player (4th in Switzerland, WTA 256 in 1999). Following an injury to her shoulder, she became interested in computer graphics and sports medicine. She first obtained a Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) in 2006 in Computer Graphics at EPFL and a PhD degree in Computer Science in 2010 at MIRALab - University of Geneva. She is currently President & Research Director of Artanim, Founder & CTO of Dreamscape Immersive, a VR entertainment company, and President of the National Thematic Network Virtual Switzerland. She is also lecturer in biomechanics and 3D imaging at the Department of Radiology and Medical Informatics, Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva.

Her work focus on the interdisciplinary use of motion capture from 3D animation, live performances to movement science, orthopedics and sports medicine. Her research interests include joint biomechanics - in particular the 3D modeling, motion analysis and simulation of native or prosthetic joints - VR/AR, real time motion interaction and 3D body scanning. The results of her research have been published in more than 70 international journals and conferences.

Caecilia has been awarded the 2009 Walthard Prize from the University of Geneva, the 2009 Eurographics Medical 1st Prize, the 2011 ISAKOS Achilles Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Research Award, the 2014 Best Technical Paper Award at the 14th CAOS Meeting, and a special distinction for the best poster discussion at the 15th EFORT Congress in 2014. Her VR platform "Real Virtuality" was also finalist of the Immersive Realities (VR/AR) contest at SIGGRAPH 2015, selected at the Sundance Film Festival New Frontier 2016 and won the 2016 Laval Virtual Award. The virtual reality dance piece "VR_I" created by Cie Gilles Jobin & Artanim was finally rewarded with the Innovation Award and the Public Award at the Festival du nouveau cinéma of Montreal 2017.

Personal website:
www.charbonnier.ch
Noémi Elster - Artanim
Noémi Elster
Lawyer, Treasurer
Thanks to her professional background, Noémi supplies a strong support at the legal and administrative levels.
Biography
Noemi is a lawyer practicing in Geneva since 2005. She graduated in 2007 and founded her own law firm in 2010. Although she is specialized in labor law, the practice of her profession remains diversified, ranging from family to criminal law.

Professional contact:
Noemi Elster's law firm
Grand-Rue 8
Case postale 5222
1211 Geneva 11
tel. +41 (0)22 310 61 41
noemi.elster@pel-avocats.ch
www.pel-avocats.ch
Clémentine Lo - Artanim
Clémentine Lo
Founder, Vice-president, Creative Director
As a CG artist with experience working in various industries, Clementine can provide you with creative solutions for your project.
Biography
Clementine is a CG artist specialized in motion capture and dynamic simulation. She is currently working as a Senior effects technical director creating visual effects for movies such as Prometheus (2012), World War Z (2013), Thor: the Dark World (2013), 300: Rise of an Empire (2013), Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) (IMDB film credits)

She first discovered computer graphics in 2002 at New York University where she attained a certificate in Animation and Visual Effects. She then continued her studies at the University of Geneva and the EPFL, graduating in 2007 with a Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) in computer graphics. Meanwhile, she also worked at MIRALab, a research laboratory, where her main task was to manage the recording and post-processing of all motion capture data. Incidentally, she chose to do her master thesis in the same field: "Virtual Mirror: a Real-time Motion Capture Application for Virtual-Try-On."

In 2008, Clementine joined Pixelux Entertainment, a Geneva based start-up who developed DMM (Digital Molecular Matter), a material physics simulation technology. As the main 3D artist, she created various promotional films and real-time demos and contributed to the development of a video game. Since 2011, she has worked as a visual effects artist in various companies: MPC, Double Negative, Mokko Studio, etc.

Clementine also has teaching experience: she was an assistant at the Geneva University and a lecturer at the Gamagora school in Lyon and the SAE Institute in Geneva.

Personal website: www.clemilo.ch
Marcelo Elias de Oliveira - Artanim
Marcelo Elias de Oliveira
Senior Researcher
Marcelo has a solid background in biomedical engineering. He contributes to the development of innovative medical applications.
Biography
Marcelo Elias de Oliveira received his PhD in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Bern and holds B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in Mechanical Engineering. Prior to joining Artanim, he worked as postdoctoral fellow in the Laboratory of Robotic Systems (LSRO) at EPFL, and in the Department of Ophthalmology at the Bern University Hospital.

He gained valuable experiences working as Research Assistant at the Max-Planck Institute for Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Munich, Germany; at the Clinic for Masticatory Disorders, University of Zürich; and in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Aalto University, Espoo, Finland. Beside his research and teaching experiences, he has two years of experience working within the automobile industry (BMW Munich and Mercedes-Benz Brazil).

Marcelo Elias de Oliveira has experience in different fields including biomedical engineering, biomechanics, neurosciences, orthopedics, rehabilitation, and neuromuscular and movement disorders. He is interested in multidisciplinary problems, and his research is focused on diagnosis, assessment, and treatment of neuromuscular disorders.
Sylvain Chagué - Artanim
Sylvain Chagué
Founder, Technology Director

With his engineering background in Computer Graphics, Sylvain will know how to clear your ideas in terms of technology.
Biography
Sylvain is the Founder and Technology Director of Artanim, a multidisciplinary motion capture lab in Switzerland, and Founder and CTO of Dreamscape Immersive Inc, a VR entertainment company developing location-based VR experiences.

Sylvain is an engineer graduated from the "Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne" (France) and specialized in image processing, computer graphics and motion capture technologies. His areas of expertise include motion capture for 3D animation and video games, interactive human-computer interfaces, virtual and augmented reality as well as 3D body scanning technologies.

His work was awarded several distinctions: the 2014 Best Technical Paper Award at the 14th CAOS Meeting in Milan and the best poster discussion at the 15th EFORT Congress in London in 2014. His VR platform « Real Virtuality » was also finalist of the Immersive Realities (VR/AR) contest at SIGGRAPH 2015, selected at the Sundance Film Festival New Frontier 2016 and won the 2016 Laval Virtual Award.
Henrique Debarba - Artanim
Henrique Debarba
Senior Researcher
Henrique has a specialization in computer graphics. He develops interactive real time VR/AR applications.
Biography
Henrique obtained a PhD in Robotics, Control, and Intelligent Systems at EPFL. He also holds a MSc in Computer Science (UFRGS-Brazil) and a BSc in Digital Technologies (UCS-Brazil). Throughout this period, he has worked with digital and immersive arts, human-computer interaction and interfaces, computer graphics, and virtual and augmented reality, accumulating more than 10 years of experience developing for immersive environments.

At EPFL he has acquired research experience in the multidisciplinary topic of body and action perception in virtual reality, collaborating with the Immersive Interaction Group (IIG) and the Laboratory of Cognitive Neuroscience (LNCO). Prior to EPFL, he has worked on the development of 3D human-computer interaction and visualization based on mobile devices.

Henrique has joined Artanim for his interest on novel interactive technologies applied to medical problems.

Personal website:
www.henriquedebarba.com

Team
Caecilia Charbonnier - Artanim
Caecilia Charbonnier
Fondateur, Présidente, Directrice de la Recherche
Caecilia a un doctorat en science et une vaste expérience en R&D. Contactez-la pour toutes demandes liées à la recherche.
Biographie
Caecilia était joueuse de tennis professionnelle (4e joueuse suisse, WTA 256 en 1999). Suite à une blessure à l'épaule, elle s'intéresse à l'infographie 3D et à la médecine du sport. Elle obtient d'abord un Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) en 2006 en infographie à l'EPFL, puis un doctorat en informatique en 2010 à MIRALab - Université de Genève. Elle est actuellement présidente et directrice de la recherche à Artanim, fondateur et CTO de Dreamscape Immersive, une compagnie spécialisée dans le divertissement en réalité virtuelle et présidente du Réseau Thématique National (RTN) Virtual Switzerland. Elle est également enseignante en biomécanique et imagerie 3D au Département de radiologie et informatique médicale à la Faculté de médecine de l'Université de Genève.

Son travail se concentre sur l'utilisation interdisciplinaire de la capture de mouvement allant de l'animation 3D, des performances temps réel à la science du mouvement, l'orthopédie et la médecine du sport. Ses sujets de recherche comprennent la biomécanique articulaire - en particulier la modélisation 3D, l'analyse du mouvement et la simulation des articulations natives ou prosthétiques - la VR/AR, l'interaction temps réel et la numérisation 3D du corps. Les résultats de ses recherches ont été publiés dans plus de 70 revues et conférences internationales.

Caecilia a reçu en 2009 le prix Walthard de l'Université de Genève et le 1er prix médical Eurographics. En 2011, elle reçoit le prix "ISAKOS Achilles Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Research Award" et en 2014 le Prix du meilleur article technique au 14ème meeting CAOS, ainsi qu'une distinction spéciale pour la meilleure discussion d'un poster au 15ème congrès de l'EFORT. Sa plateforme de réalité virtuelle "Real Virtuality" a aussi été finaliste de l'Immersive Realities (VR/AR) contest à SIGGRAPH 2015, sélectionnée au Sundance Film Festival New Frontier 2016 et a remporté le prix Laval Virtual 2016.

Site web personnel :
www.charbonnier.ch
Noémi Elster - Artanim
Noémi Elster
Avocate, Trésorière
De part son bagage professionnel, Noémi apporte à Artanim un soutien solide sur les plans juridique et administratif.
Biographie
Noémi est avocate au barreau de Genève depuis 2005 et brevetée depuis 2007. Elle fonde sa propre Etude en 2010. Spécialisée en droit du travail, son exercice de la profession demeure diversifié notamment entre le droit de la famille et le droit pénal.

Coordonnées professionnelles :
Etude de Noémi Elster
Grand-Rue 8
Case postale 5222
1211 Genève 11
tél. +41 (0)22 310 61 41
noemi.elster@pel-avocats.ch
www.pel-avocats.ch
Clémentine Lo - Artanim
Clémentine Lo
Fondateur, Vice-présidente, Directrice Artistique
Artiste 3D expérimentée dans différents domaines, Clémentine saura trouver des solutions créatives pour votre projet.
Biographie
Clémentine est une artiste 3D spécialisée en capture de mouvement et simulation dynamique. Elle travaille actuellement en tant que "Senior effects technical director" pour la création de films. Elle a notamment travaillé sur les films suivants : Prometheus (2012), World War Z (2013), Thor: the Dark World (2013), 300: Rise of an Empire (2013), Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) (IMDB film credits)

Son premier contact avec la 3D se fait en 2002 à l'Université de New York où elle obtient un Certificat en Animation et Effets Visuels. Elle poursuit ses études à l'Université de Genève et à l'EPFL et obtient en 2007 un Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) en infographie. Pendant ses études, elle travaille au laboratoire de recherche MIRALab, où sa tâche principale était de gérer l'enregistrement et le post-processing des données de capture de mouvement. C'est d'ailleurs dans ce domaine qu'elle choisit de faire son travail de Master "Virtual Mirror: a Real-time Motion Capture Application for Virtual-try-On".

En 2008, Clémentine rejoint Pixelux Entertainment, une start-up genevoise qui a développé DMM (Digital Molecular Matter), une technologie de simulation physique des matériaux. En tant qu'infographiste principale, elle y réalise plusieurs films promotionnels ainsi que des démonstrations en temps réel pour cette technologie. Elle contribue également au développement d'un jeu vidéo. Depuis 2011, elle réalise des effets spéciaux pour les films et a travaillé pour les compagnies suivantes : MPC, Double Negative, Mokko Studio, etc.

Clémentine a aussi une expérience en formation : elle était assistante à l'Université de Genève et chargé de cours à l'école Gamagora de Lyon et à SAE Intitute à Genève.

Site web personnel : www.clemilo.ch
Marcelo Elias de Oliveira - Artanim
Marcelo Elias de Oliveira
Chercheur sénior
Marcelo a une solide expérience en génie biomédical. Il contribue au développement d'applications innovantes en médecine.
Biographie
Marcelo Elias de Oliveira a obtenu un doctorat en génie biomédical de l'Université de Berne et détient un bachelor et un master en génie mécanique. Avant de rejoindre Artanim, il a travaillé comme postdoc dans le Laboratoire de Systèmes Robotiques (LSRO) à l'EPFL et dans le Département d'ophtalmologie de l'Hôpital universitaire de Berne.

Il a acquis une expérience précieuse en travaillant comme assistant de recherche à l'Institut Max-Planck pour les Sciences cognitives et du cerveau, Munich, Allemagne; à la Clinique des troubles masticatoires, Université de Zürich; et dans le Département de génie électrique de l'Université Aalto, Espoo, Finlande. A côté de ses expériences de recherche et d'enseignement, il a deux ans d'expérience au sein de l'industrie automobile (BMW Munich et Mercedes-Benz Brésil).

Marcelo Elias de Oliveira a de l'expérience dans différents domaines, y compris le génie biomédical, la biomécanique, les neurosciences, l'orthopédie, la réadaptation et les troubles neuromusculaires et du mouvement. Il est intéressé par les problèmes multidisciplinaires et sa recherche se concentre sur le diagnostic, l'évaluation et le traitement des troubles neuromusculaires.
Sylvain Chagué - Artanim
Sylvain Chagué
Fondateur, Directeur de la Technologie
Avec son bagage d'ingénieur spécialisé en informatique, Sylvain saura éclaicir vos idées en terme de technologie.
Biographie
Sylvain est fondateur et directeur de la technologie à Artanim, un laboratoire multidisciplinaire de capture de mouvement basé en Suisse, et fondateur et CTO de Dreamscape Immersive Inc, une compagnie de divertissement en réalité virtuelle développant des expériences.

Sylvain est ingénieur diplômé de l'Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne (France) et spécialisé dans le traitement d'image, l'informatique et les technologies de capture de mouvement. Ses domaines d'expertise comprennent la capture de mouvement pour l'animation 3D et les jeux vidéo, les interfaces interactives homme-machine, la réalité virtuelle et augmentée ainsi que les technologies de scanner 3D du corps.

Son travail a reçu plusieurs distinctions : le prix du meilleur article technique au 14ème meeting CAOS à Milan en 2014, ainsi qu'une distinction spéciale pour la meilleure discussion d'un poster au 15ème congrès de l'EFORT à Londres en 2014. Sa plateforme de réalité virtuelle "Real Virtuality" a aussi été finaliste de l'Immersive Realities (VR/AR) contest à SIGGRAPH 2015, sélectionnée au Sundance Film Festival New Frontier 2016 et a remporté le prix Laval Virtual 2016.
Henrique Debarba - Artanim
Henrique Debarba
Chercheur sénior
Henrique est spécialisé en infographie 3D. Il développe des applications interactives en réalité virtuelle et augmentée.
Biographie
Henrique a obtenu un doctorat en robotique, contrôle, et systèmes intelligents à l'EPFL. Il détient également un master en informatique (UFRGS-Brésil) et un baccalauréat en technologies numériques (UCS-Brésil). Tout au long de cette période, il a travaillé avec les arts numériques et immersifs, l'interaction et les interfaces homme-machine, l'infographie et la réalité virtuelle et augmentée, accumulant plus de 10 ans d'expérience dans le développement d'environnements immersifs.

A l'EPFL, il a acquis une expérience de recherche dans le thème multidisciplinaire du corps et de l'action perception en réalité virtuelle, en collaboration avec l'Immersive Interaction Group (IIG) et le Laboratoire des neurosciences cognitives (LNCO). Avant l'EPFL, il a travaillé sur le développement d'interaction 3D homme-machine et la visualisation basée sur des appareils mobiles.

Henrique a rejoint Artanim pour son intérêt pour les technologies interactives nouvelles appliquées à des problèmes médicaux.

Site web personnel :
www.henriquedebarba.com