Real virtuality
Immersive platform
Project info
Start date:
April 2015

End date:
April 2017

Funding:
-

Coordinator:
Artanim
Categories

Summary
The objective of this project is to develop a multi-user immersive platform combining a 3D environment - which can be seen and heard through a VR headset - with a real life stage set. Users are tracked by a motion capture system allowing them to see their own bodies, move physically in the virtual environment and interact with physical objects.

The solution developed tackles the following technical challenges: 1) we generate a full body animation using inverse kinematics from a minimal number of markers to keep the user's setup time as short as possible, while ensuring a good tracking accuracy; 2) the platform is multi-user and the VR headset interfaces wirelessly with the motion capture system; 3) the interaction with the objects is flawless and retargeted correctly; 4) the position and orientation of the user's head is adequately handled to minimize latency (which would result in possible discomfort with the VR headset) and to maximize positioning accuracy.

This platform can be used in numerous applications, such as for virtual visits (e.g., long lost historical sites, architectural places, telepresence), entertainment (e.g., games, theme-park attractions, story-telling experiences) or medical projects (e.g., phobia treatment, rehabilitation). Our solution offers a "matrix-like" degree of immersion over a large area, up to hundreds of square meters.

Download the white paper here.

More information on the commercialization of the platform here.
Partners
Artanim
Development of the VR platform

With the collaboration of Kenzan SA (scenography and 3D modeling of the Egyptian tomb for the demo Walking through a Pharaoh's tomb) and Cie Gilles Jobin (choreography and dancing for the demo A ballet from the inside)
Related publications
Chagué S, Charbonnier C. Real Virtuality: A Multi-User Immersive Platform Connecting Real and Virtual Worlds, VRIC 2016 Virtual Reality International Conference - Laval Virtual, Laval, France, ACM New York, NY, USA, March 2016.
PDF

Chagué S, Charbonnier C. Digital Cloning for an Increased Feeling of Presence in Collaborative Virtual Reality Environments, Proc. of 6th Int. Conf. on 3D Body Scanning Technologies, Lugano, Switzerland, October 2015.
PDF

Real virtuality
Plateforme immersive
Info sur le projet
Début :
Avril 2015

Fin :
Août 2019

Financement :
-

Coordinateur :
Artanim
Catégories

Résumé
L'objectif de ce projet est de développer une plateforme immersive multi-utilisateur combinant un environnement 3D - qui peut être vu et entendu par le biais d'un casque de realité virtuelle - avec une scène grandeur nature. Un système de capture de mouvement suit le positionnement et les mouvements des utilisateurs dans l'espace. Ce dispositif leur permet de voir leur propre corps, de se déplacer physiquement dans un environnement virtuel et d'interagir avec des objets physiques.

La solution développée permet de relever les défis techniques suivants : 1) nous générons une animation complète du corps par cinématique inverse à partir d'un nombre minimal de marqueurs afin que le temps pour équiper les utilisateurs soit aussi court que possible, tout en conservant une bonne précision de tracking; 2) la plateforme est multi-utilisateur et le casque de réalité virtuelle s'interface sans fil avec le système de capture de mouvement; 3) l'interaction avec les objets est naturelle; 4) la position et l'orientation de la tête de l'utilisateur sont calculées de manière adéquate afin de minimiser la latence (qui peut induire une gêne avec le casque de réalité virtuelle) et de maximiser la précision du positionnement.

Cette plateforme peut être utilisée dans de nombreuses applications, comme des visites virtuelles (ex : sites historiques disparus, lieux architecturaux, télépresence), pour le divertissement (ex : jeux vidéo, parc d'attraction, expériences narratives) ou des projets médicaux (ex : traitement de la phobie, réhabilitation). Notre solution offre un degré d'immersion comme dans "Matrix" sur un large espace de plusieurs centaines de mètres carrés.

Téléchargez le livre blanc ici.

Cette plateforme est commercialisée par Dreamscape Immersive. Plus d'information ici.
Publications relatives
Chagué S, Charbonnier C. Real Virtuality: A Multi-User Immersive Platform Connecting Real and Virtual Worlds, VRIC 2016 Virtual Reality International Conference - Laval Virtual, Laval, France, ACM New York, NY, USA, March 2016.
PDF

Chagué S, Charbonnier C. Digital Cloning for an Increased Feeling of Presence in Collaborative Virtual Reality Environments, Proc. of 6th Int. Conf. on 3D Body Scanning Technologies, Lugano, Switzerland, October 2015.
PDF